International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK)

IFFK 2015
International Film Festival of Kerala

IFFK festival dates: Dec 04–11
Delegate registration opens on Nov 05

“Every film selected to the IFFK competition section offers a different experience for film lovers,” says filmmaker Kamal

“Young aspiring filmmakers should make use of the opportunity afforded by IFFK to the fullest. They should see this as a part of their learning process like I do and be more serious about watching movies rather than going for fun’s sake. For me, the itch to make movies came from such opportunities to watch movies from around the globe. I was very passionate about it right from my college days and so have been associating and attending IFFK since the first edition.”

Films from Asia, Africa, and Latin-American countries will compete for the Golden Crow Pheasant Award for Best Feature Film of IFFK. It carries a cash prize of Rs. 15 lakhs.

Júlio Bressane Eduardo (Brazil) is the chairman of the international jury. The other members are Nadia Dresti (Switzerland), Maxine Williamson (Australia), Newton Aduaka (Nigeria), and Jahnu Barua (India). Film critics Derek Malcolm (UK) and Latika Padgaonkar (India) are the two FIPRESCI jurors. Filmmaker Siddiq Barmak (Afghanistan/France), actress Swarna Mallawarachchi (Srilanka) and film scholar/curator Meenakshi Shedde (India) comprise the NETPAC jury.

A Lifetime Achievement Award would be conferred upon writer-director Dariush Mehrjui (Iran)

Amartya Bhattacharya’s Capital I, Kaushik Ganguly’s Cinemawala, Manikandan Mathialagan’s Kutrame Thandanai (Crime is Punishment), BS Lingadevaru’s Nanu Avanalla Avalu (I am not He; She), Debesh Chatterjee’s Natoker Moto (Like a Play), Satarupa Sanyal’s Onyo Opalaa (Opalaa, The journey of a Woman), and Manju Borah’s Dau Huduni Methai (Song of the Horned Owl) are the films in the India Cinema Now section.

Sanal Kumar Sasidharan’s Ozhivudivasathe Kali (A off-day Game), Dr. Bijukumar Damodaran’s Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal (Birds with large wings), VK Prakash’s Nirnaayakam, Salim Ahamed’s Pathemari, Sidhartha Siva’s Ain (The Eye), R Harikumar’s Kattum Mazhayum (Wind and Rain), and RS Vimal’s Ennu Ninte Moideen (Yours Moideen) are the films in the Malayalam Cinema Today section.


Festival Circuit

Sony Gomes is a dance choreographer from the Malayalam film industry, with over two and a half decades of experience as a stage performer and as a dance master. Some of his students have gone on to become models and actors, and have garnered awards. His signature style is a mix of a variety of genres—from classical dance forms such as bhartanatyam, mohiniyattam, kathak, and kathakali to dance-room, folk and street forms such as disco, hip-hop, and the dappan koothu. Additionally, he has composed the music for, and directed, a music video; and has successfully attempted the film-reviewing stunt.

No comment

Leave a reply

Log in using below social networks to join the discussion
Site Archives

Related by